László Lovász among the leaders of the European Research Council

László Lovász among the leaders of the European Research Council
On 1 March 2022, the European Commission appointed three new members to the governing body of the leading European scientific organisation, including László Lovász, professor of mathematics at Eötvös Loránd University and former President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

The Commission appointed the three scientists for an initial period of four years to replace members whose mandates have expired. In addition to László Lovász, the new members are Chryssa Kouveliotou, professor at George Washington University, Washington D.C., United States, and Giovanni Sartor, professor at the University of Bologna, Italy. All three of them will be filling their positions in the committee on 2 March.

The new delegates were greeted by Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, as well as Maria Leptin, President of the European Research Council (ERC).

The ERC, set up by the European Union in 2007, is the premier European funding organisation for excellent frontier research. It is led by the Scientific Council: the main role of the panel composed of 22 distinguished scientists and scholars is setting the ERC strategy and selecting the peer review evaluators.

László Lovász has already won two ERC research grants. In 2019, he launched a Synergy Grant research project with his two fellow researchers, Albert-László Barabási and Jaroslav Nešetřil, funded with nearly 10 million Euros. Currently, he is affiliated with the Alfréd Rényi Mathematical Research Institute.

Most recently, we have written about László Lovász in connection with his Abel Prize.

Source: MTA