Vice-Rectors of ELTE for next term

Vice-Rectors of ELTE for next term HU
László Borhy will be assisted in his work by Lénárd Darázs, Imre Hamar, Péter Sziklai and László Zentai.

As we have reported earlier, László Borhy will once again hold the position of Rector of Eötvös Loránd University from 1 August 2021 for four years, as decided by the Senate on 19 April. The rector received his official appointment from President János Áder on 24 June, 2021 at the Sándor Palace (Sándor-palota).

The Rector will be assisted in his work by Vice-Rectors: under the current regulations, in addition to the Vice-Rector for General Affairs, other professors from ELTE are responsible for education and academic affairs, international affairs and scientific affairs. The appointment of the Vice-Rectors is decided by the Rector, after considering the opinion of the Senate, in accordance with the University’s Organisational and Operational Regulations.

Applications for the positions of Vice-Rectors were published on 18 May and the Senate gave its feedback on the applications by its decision of 30 June. As a result, a four-member team has been formed to assist Rector László Borhy as Vice-Rectors in the next term. Professor Lénárd Darázs, Lecturer at the Department of Civil Law at the Faculty of Law will stay in the position of Vice-Rector for General Affairs, Professor Imre Hamar, Director of the Institute of East Asian Studies at the Faculty of Humanities, will continue to serve as Vice-Rector for International Affairs, and Professor László Zentai, Head of the Institute of Cartography and Geoinformatics at the Faculty of Informatics of ELTE will continue to serve as Vice-Rector for Education. The only change is in the position of Vice-Rector for Research, Enikő Magyari will be succeeded by Péter Sziklai, Head of the Department of Computer Science at the Faculty of Science.

ELTE citizens can read up on the proposals and decisions of the Senate on this page.

Detailed information on the duties of the Vice-Rectors can be found in this Rector’s Directive.