Academic Calendar    
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
.: EÖtvÖs Loránd University :.
.:Új Magyarország :.
30 Jun 2016, Thu
home
» Home   » Practical   » Academic Calendar  
   
Academic Calendar

The academic year in Hungary starts in September and is built up of two semesters: autumn and spring semesters. Both semesters start with a registration period which is followed by the study period and an examination period afterwards.

The general structure of the year:

Semester 1 (Autumn)               
Registration period: early September
Study period: early September – mid-December
Examination period: mid-December – end of January/early February

Semester 2 (Spring)                             
Registration period: early February
Study period: early February – mid-May
Examination period: mid-May – early July


In semester 1 (Autumn) usually there is a one-week Autumn break in October or November.
In semester 2 (Spring) usually there is a one-week Spring break around Easter (in March or April).
Summer vacation lasts from the end of semester 2 (Spring) until the beginning of semester 1 (Autumn).

2016/2017

Semester I (Autumn)
Autumn registration period 7–9 September 2016 (Wednesday–Friday)
Orientation Days (for international students, in English) during registration period
Opening Ceremony (for Hungarian faculty and students, in Hungarian, by invitation only) 9 September 2016 (Friday)
UNESCO International Day of University Sport 20 September 2016 (Tuesday)
Study period
First day of tuition 12 September 2016 (Monday)
Autumn break 2–4 November 2016 (Wednesday–Friday)
Last day of tuition 16 December 2016 (Friday)
Examination period
First day 19 December 2016 (Monday)
Last day 3 February 2017 (Friday)
Semester II (Spring)
Spring registration period 6-10 February 2017 (Monday–Friday)
Orientation Days (for international students, in English) during registration period
Study period
First day of tuition 13 February 2017 (Monday)
Spring break 12–18 April 2017 (Wednesday–Tuesday)
Last day of tuition 19 May 2017 (Friday)
Pázmány Day 12 May 2017 (Friday)
Examination period
First day 22 May 2017 (Monday)
Last day 7 July 2017 (Friday)

2015/2016

Semester I (Autumn)
Autumn registration period 2-4 September 2015 (Wednesday–Friday)
Orientation Days (for international students, in English) 2-4 September 2015 (Wednesday–Friday)
Opening Ceremony (for Hungarian faculty and students, in Hungarian, by invitation only) 4 September 2015 (Friday)
Study period
First day of tuition 7 September 2015 (Monday)
Autumn break 26–30 October 2015 (Monday–Friday)
Last day of tuition 11 December 2015 (Friday)
Examination period
First day 14 December 2015 (Monday)
Last day 29 January 2016 (Friday)
Semester II (Spring)
Spring registration period 1-5 February 2016 (Monday-Friday)
Orientation Days (for international students, in English) 3-5 February 2016 (Wednesday-Friday)
Study period
First day of tuition 8 February 2016 (Monday)
Spring break 23-29 March 2016 (Wednesday-Tuesday)
Last day of tuition 13 May 2016 (Friday)
Pázmány Day 6 May 2016 (Friday)
Examination period
First day 17 May 2016 (Tuesday)
Last day 1 July 2016 (Friday)
Calendar   
June 2016
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
.: News :.
Conference on Brazilian-Hungarian academic and scientific cooperation
Studybility training on student enrolment management was held at ELTE
Innovative corrosion resistant coatings are examined in an International project
Research position offered in a joint research program between ELTE and MSD Hungary
ELTE is the most popular higher education institution among Erasmus students
Call for Papers – Rethinking European Constitutional Democracy
.:   Portálkezelői menü  •   Tartalom módosítása  •   2016.04.28.   :.
 
   
  © 2 0 0 8 - 2 0 1 5   E Ö T V Ö S   L O R Á N D   U N I V E R S I T Y  ( E L T E )    A l l  r i g h t s  r e s e r v e d .
Address :: Eötvös Loránd University   Egyetem tér 1-3. Budapest,   1053 Hungary   •   Phone :: (+36) 1 411 6500  •   Contact us   •   Sitemap