Academic Calendar    
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
.: EÖtvÖs Loránd University :.
.:Új Magyarország :.
7 Feb 2016, Sun
home
» Home   » Practical   » Academic Calendar  
   
Academic Calendar

The academic year in Hungary starts in September and is built up of two semesters: autumn and spring semesters. Both semesters start with a registration period which is followed by the study period and an examination period afterwards.

The general structure of the year:

Semester 1 (Autumn)               
Registration period: early September
Study period: early September – mid-December
Examination period: mid-December – end of January/early February

Semester 2 (Spring)                             
Registration period: early February
Study period: early February – mid-May
Examination period: mid-May – early July


In semester 1 (Autumn) usually there is a one-week Autumn break in October or November.
In semester 2 (Spring) usually there is a one-week Spring break around Easter (in March or April).
Summer vacation lasts from the end of semester 2 (Spring) until the beginning of semester 1 (Autumn).

2015/2016

Semester I (Autumn)
Autumn registration period 2-4 September 2015 (Wednesday–Friday)
Orientation Days (for international students, in English) 2-4 September 2015 (Wednesday–Friday)
Opening Ceremony (for Hungarian faculty and students, in Hungarian, by invitation only) 4 September 2015 (Friday)
Study period
First day of tuition 7 September 2015 (Monday)
Autumn break 26–30 October 2015 (Monday–Friday)
Last day of tuition 11 December 2015 (Friday)
Examination period
First day 14 December 2015 (Monday)
Last day 29 January 2016 (Friday)
Semester II (Spring)
Spring registration period 1-5 February 2016 (Monday-Friday)
Orientation Days (for international students, in English) 3-5 February 2016 (Wednesday-Friday)
Study period
First day of tuition 8 February 2016 (Monday)
Spring break 23-29 March 2016 (Wednesday-Tuesday)
Last day of tuition 13 May 2016 (Friday)
Pázmány Day 6 May 2016 (Friday)
Examination period
First day 17 May 2016 (Tuesday)
Last day 1 July 2016 (Friday)

2014/2015

Semester I (Autumn)

Autumn registration period

3–5 September 2014 (Wednesday–Friday)

Orientation Day (in English)

4 September 2014 (Thursday)

Opening Ceremony (for Hungarian faculty and students, in Hungarian, by invitation only)

5 September 2014 (Friday)

Study period

First day of tuition

8 September 2014 (Monday)

Autumn break

27–31 October 2014 (Monday–Friday)

Last day of tuition

12 December 2014 (Friday)

Examination period

First day

15 December 2014 (Monday)

Last day

30 January 2015 (Friday)

Semester II (Spring)

Spring registration period

2–6 February 2015 (Monday–Friday)

Orientation Day (for international students, in English)

5 February 2015 (Thursday)

Study period

First day of tuition

9 February 2015 (Monday)

Spring break

1–7 April 2015 (Wednesday–Tuesday)

Last day of tuition

15 May 2015 (Friday)

Pázmány Day

8 May 2015 (Friday)

Examination period

First day

18 May 2015 (Monday)

Last day

3 July 2015 (Friday)

Calendar   
February 2016
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
.: News :.
ELTE is the most popular higher education institution among Erasmus students
News findings in the molecular background of skin cancer
Apply for Stipendium Hungaricum and study at ELTE in English
Orientation Days for International Students 2015/2016 Spring semester
Call for Papers – Rethinking European Constitutional Democracy
Research position offered in a joint research program between ELTE and MSD Hungary
.:   Portálkezelői menü  •   Tartalom módosítása  •   2015.12.04.   :.
 
   
  © 2 0 0 8 - 2 0 1 5   E Ö T V Ö S   L O R Á N D   U N I V E R S I T Y  ( E L T E )    A l l  r i g h t s  r e s e r v e d .
Address :: Eötvös Loránd University   Egyetem tér 1-3. Budapest,   1053 Hungary   •   Phone :: (+36) 1 411 6500  •   Contact us   •   Sitemap