Faculty of Science


Eötvös Loránd University has been offering science courses since its foundation in 1635. Mathematics, physics and cartography were taught from the beginning at the Faculty of Arts. Chemistry, biology and Earth sciences were added to the curriculum by the second half of the 18th century. Following the rapid development of sciences, the independent Faculty of Science was formed from the science departments of the Faculty of Arts in 1949. After 2002, the students of the Faculty of Science study at the new campus in the south of Buda, which is the most modern campus in Hungary.

BSc Studies

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Sciences
  • Environmental Studies
  • Geography
  • Mathematics
  • Physics

MSc Studies

  • Applied Mathematics
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Bio-molecular Chemistry
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Biology
  • Environmental Development
  • Environmental Studies
  • Ethology
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Geophysics
  • History and Philosophy of Sciences
  • Human Biology
  • Immunology
  • Informatics for Chemistry
  • Informatics for Science
  • Material Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Mathematics for Finance and Insurance
  • Media Studies for Science
  • Meteorology
  • Mineral Studies
  • Physics
  • Regional and Urban Development

PhD Schools

  • PhD School of Biology
  • PhD School of Chemistry
  • PhD School of Earth Sciences
  • PhD School of Environmental Studies
  • PhD School of Mathematics
  • PhD School of Physics

Institutes of the Faculty

  • Institute of Biology
  • Institute of Geography and Earth Sciences
  • Institute of Environmental Studies
  • Institute of Chemistry
  • Institute of Mathematics
  • Institute of Physics

·  Faculty of Science

·  Studies in science